Logo Polskiego Radia

Poland votes in parliamentary elections

PR dla Zagranicy
Peter Gentle 09.10.2011 15:45
UPDATED at 19.45 CET: President Bronislaw Komorowski and First Lady Anna have voted in Poland's elections for the lower and upper houses of parliament.

President Komorowski votes in Warsaw; photo - PAP/Radek Pietruszka

We will be publishing exit polls and reactions from 21.00 CET when polling stations close until around midnight tonight, with a one-hour LIVE English language broadcast beginning at 21.30 CET, which will be streamed on the Polish Radio External Service audio player.

The National Election Commission has announced that at 18.00 CET, turnout was 39.6 percent, down on the same time, four years ago. Turnout during the 2007 election was officially 53.8 percent.

The city with the highest turnout at 18.00 CET Sunday was Warsaw on 53.77 percent, ahead of Poznan on 48 percent.

Over 30 million Poles have an opportunity to vote today until 21.00 CET when polling stations are scheduled to close.

President Bronislaw Komorowski voted in Warsaw at around 11.00 CET, while Donald Tusk, who has been prime minister in the centre-right coalition for the last four years, cast his vote, also in the capital, one hour later.

Jaroslaw Kaczynski, who led the largest opposition party in the lower house (Sejm) in the last parliament, voted in Warsaw at around 14.15 CET.

The National Election Commission says that it expects around 156,000 Poles to cast votes abroad.

Polish-Americans in the US voted on Saturday – due to time differences – and around 20,000 cast votes there.

This page will be updated throughout Sunday to keep you up-to-date with all the election news until polling stations close. (pg)

Copyright © Polskie Radio S.A About Us Contact Us