Logo Polskiego Radia

Poland to expel four Russian diplomats

PR dla Zagranicy
Paweł Kononczuk 26.03.2018 15:05
Poland is to expel four Russian diplomats as part of a coordinated international response to a suspected nerve agent attack by Moscow on an ex-spy in Britain.
Polish Foreign Minister Jacek Czaputowicz. Photo: PAP/Paweł SupernakPolish Foreign Minister Jacek Czaputowicz. Photo: PAP/Paweł Supernak

“The aim is to show solidarity with Great Britain,” Polish Foreign Minister Jacek Czaputowicz told a press conference on Monday.

He added that Britain had been targeted in an "unprecedented attack which was the first deliberate use of chemical weapons against a group of civilians in Europe in the history of post-war Europe.”

Czaputowicz told reporters the Russians would have to leave Poland by April 3.

Fourteen EU countries, the United States and Ukraine have decided to expel Russian diplomats, Polish public broadcaster TVP reported on Monday.

British Prime Minister Theresa May has said it is “highly likely” that Russia was behind an attack on former Russian spy Sergei Skripal and his daughter in Salisbury, southern England, on March 4.

Both are reportedly fighting for their life in hospital.

In response to the incident, London has expelled 23 Russian diplomats believed to be intelligence agents.

Czaputowicz said earlier this month Warsaw was “certain” that Moscow was involved in the suspected nerve agent attack.

Moscow has denied allegations of Russian involvement.


Copyright © Polskie Radio S.A About Us Contact Us