Logo Polskiego Radia

Sejm votes in five new Constitutional Tribunal judges

PR dla Zagranicy
Roberto Galea 02.12.2015 19:40
The Sejm lower house of Polish parliament convened on Wednesday to vote for the five new judges, who had been presented by the ruling Law and Justice.
Voting the Sejm on Wednesday. Photo: PAP/Jacek TurczykVoting the Sejm on Wednesday. Photo: PAP/Jacek Turczyk

The judges voted in on Wednesday are Henryk Cioch, Lech Morawski Mariusz Muszyński, Julia Przyłębska, and Piotr Pszczółkowski.

The session saw vehement discussions and protest calls from the opposition demanding that the Constitution be respected and democratic ideals cherished.

The Wednesday session was a follow up to last week’s decision of the Lower House which declared as non-binding the appointment of five judges to the Constitutional Tribunal, by the previous government, led by the Civic Platform.

Some of the protesters outside the Sejm building on Wednesday. Photo: PAP/Marcin Obara

The heated atmosphere in parliament was echoed outside the Parliament buildings, where supporters and opponents of Law and Justice loudly voiced their sentiments. (ab/rg/rk)

Copyright © Polskie Radio S.A About Us Contact Us