Logo Polskiego Radia

Three Poles in new Chopin competition finals

PR dla Zagranicy
Grzegorz Siwicki 11.09.2018 09:35
Six pianists have qualified for the final round of the First International Chopin Competition on Historical Instruments in Warsaw.
Photo: voytekpavlik/pixabay.com/CC0 Creative CommonsPhoto: voytekpavlik/pixabay.com/CC0 Creative Commons

The group is made up of three Poles, Krzysztof Książek, Tomasz Ritter and Aleksandra Świgut, alongside Naruhiko Kawaguchi of Japan, Dmitri Ablogin of Russia, and Antoine Grolee of France.

In the finals, which begin on Wednesday, they will each perform one of Chopin’s piano concertos while accompanied by the period-instrument Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century under Polish conductor Grzegorz Nowak.

The pianists have at their disposal five pianos, both instruments dating from the mid-19th century and replicas of period instruments.

The prizewinners will be announced on Thursday night, after the performance of the last participant.

The winner will receive EUR 15,000 in prize money as well as invitations to recitals and concerts in prestigious venues in Poland and abroad.

The event will close with a concert featuring all of the prizewinners on Friday.

The International Chopin Competition on Historical Instruments was entered by 30 pianists from nine countries. It is a new project by the National Chopin Institute in Warsaw.


tags: Chopin
Copyright © Polskie Radio S.A About Us Contact Us